It’s Finally Here!

After dealing with a lot of shipping shenanigans, the main kit is finally here!

IMG_0404

 

The crate was a bit of a mess, and had been “repaired” a couple of times in transit apparently. Big thanks to Var for helping me get it home anyways. After a couple hours of unloading and dismantling, most of the car was in my garage, and just the frame itself was left to unload.IMG_0408

With a little more help from Var and Ted, we got the frame into the garage as well, alongside the other car.

IMG_0409

 

The next step is to get the frame sand blasted and powder coated, to prevent it from rusting and make it look awesome. While I’m doing that, most of the engine is at http://www.robsautomachine.com/, getting the cylinders honed, and the rotating assembly balanced. I should be getting that all back in the next week or so, and then I can build most of the engine itself.

Besides the rotating assembly, which I neglected to take pictures of before handing off for balancing, the roller rockers also arrived. They are slightly higher ratio than stock, so I can run a fairly mild cam and keep the valve train solid and reliable:

IMG_0410

 

Still a whole bunch of hardware and gaskets to buy for the engine, and a transmission, differential, seats and wheels for the rest of the car. Now to find a way to get the frame to a shop for coating.

Leave a comment