Parts Accumulation

More parts are coming in, and I almost have something to do besides shop. I was able to pick up a set of ARP head studs, and a pair of used LS3 heads with PAC 1208 double valve springs:

Image

These will be just about perfect for this engine, but I may sell these springs to go with a slightly lighter “beehive” single spring design, since I don’t intend to run a very aggressive camshaft. The threaded holes just beside the springs are for stud-mounted rocker arms in the stock engine, but I’ll be going with a slightly sturdier semi-shaft mounted design to stabilize the arms, especially at higher RPMs.

I also picked up a new stock LS3 intake manifold, and a 90mm electric throttle body:Image

This stock air intake setup should be plenty for the power levels I’m shooting for here. I’m waiting to pick up fuel injectors and fuel rails until I select a cam, so I can be a little more accurate with the sizing of the injectors.

I also have a steering wheel with a quick release steering hub, and a steering u-joint. That should be everything I need(besides wheels and tires) to make the car roll and steer once the chassis and bodywork comes in, which will be extremely helpful to make room in the garage while I finish the engine.

The engine block itself has minor surface stains in the cylinder bores from being stored unsealed before I bought it, so I’ve decided to have it honed out to 4.070″ to clean that up, just to be safe. The actual engine assembly is still a ways off, some parts are backordered, some are custom order, and I am still deciding what exactly I want.

Still a very engineering heavy update, soon I hope these are a little more entertaining. The kit itself is shipping this week, and once that arrives some of the work can finally start!

1 thought on “Parts Accumulation

Leave a comment