Catching Up, pt2

It has been a few years now, and I’ve decided to dedicate some time this year to making progress on this project. So, let’s jump right in to where we left off!

V6gVk2Q - Imgur

I took a trip at the end of the last post I made here out to Summit Racing to grab some of the remaining engine and chassis parts to get closer to having a rolling chassis with an engine in it.

bTGE1Lu - Imgur

Here we see my car loaded up with a T56 transmission and a bunch of AN fittings, a flywheel, clutch, water pump, and some other misc parts.

GSbV4qM - Imgur

Transmission in the box, no bellhousing attached yet. This is a T56 Magnum, part number TUET-11012 for the higher ratios, hopefully helping me keep the power useable in this very light car.

gyohSO6 - Imgur

Flywheel attached, and close to being ready to go into the frame.

Db6SwLP - Imgur

Clutch bolted to the flywheel temporarily. I’ll be taking this back apart to swap those pressure plate bolts to some ARP ones that were in the mail at the time, but I was excited to get the drivetrain into the car.

WzAjRYz - Imgur

Getting the engine situated into the frame while still on the build cart, Grant helping line up the transmission mount.

k6jr2Nj - Imgur

Fully situated! Getting ready here to remove the engine hoist from the engine and let the car support the weight for the first time. Also a decent shot of the steering box and inboard front coilovers.

And here we are, for the first time seen with the drivetrain mostly in the car! Headers are attached, though they are not fit quite right and the mufflers won’t clear the bodywork as it is.

That is it for this post, look out here in another couple years for another update on the progress I’ve made, and progress I will be making!

Leave a comment